College Scholarships

Since its inception in 1923 the Lewis County Branch has provided financial aid to local women college students. A tuition scholarship has been presented in the name of the legendary Dr. Kate Gregg since 1955. For over half a century, it was presented to a sophomore woman at Centralia College and covered full tuition for one school year.  Currently, multiple tuition scholarships of $1000 to $1500 each are awarded annually, one named for Dr. Kate Gregg and others named for long-standing members who have contributed noteworthy service to the branch

Support comes from proceeds of our annual used-book sale, donations, and interest accrued from the Women Supporting Women Scholarships endowment fund, which is the 401(c)(3) non-profit organization supported by Lewis County AAUW.

2024-2025 Scholarship Recipients

Maritza Alvarado – Luana Graves Tribute Scholarship

Tiffany Cummings – Sandy Godsey Memorial Scholarship

Kendra Dimaggio – Dr. Kate Gregg Memorial Scholarship

Maya Hankins – Donna Loucks Tribute Scholarship

Jasmine McMahan – Jan Leth Tribute Scholarship

Edith Stratis – Kristi Nelson Tribute Scholarship

Makensee Taliaferro – Gerald Vandeboe Memorial Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements for Applicants

1.  She must be a woman graduate of a high school in Lewis County or Rochester, WA, or to have been a resident of Lewis County or the city of Rochester, WA, for at least two years before entering an accredited education institution. Such institutions include colleges and universities, as well as online, technical, and trade schools.

2. She must be a freshman, sophomore, junior, or senior enrolled in an accredited institution of higher learning (including Centralia College), or an accredited on-line, technical, or trade school.

3. She must have established a strong record in academic courses.

4. She must have demonstrated service to her high school, college, or community.

5. She should exhibit financial need.

Applications can be obtained annually from after November 1.

Completed applications must be postmarked no later than the following February 15.