Our Named Honorees

Each of our current scholarships is given in memory of a branch member.

Ann Trout Blinks , three-term president 1965-1968, 50-year member, award- winning journalist of the Centralia Chronicle who monitored branch publicity for nearly four decades. (Awarded to Lovina Andersen)

Dorothy Dysart, joined two months after Lewis County Branch was formed in 1923; organizing member of the Washington State AAUW, 1927; member of nominating committee that selected first state officers; chair of the 1940 state convention that was held in Centralia; branch president 1941-1942; chair of branch 40th anniversary banquet to which all past presidents and past members were invited; branch historian for 61 years; quintessential Lewis County Branch member. (Awarded to Annika Waring)

Alice M. Forth, attended Centralia Community College as the first Margaret Corbet scholar; was head of the business department at Centralia College; appointed Dean of Students; world traveler who visited seven continents. (Awarded to Faith Thomas)

Sandy Godsey, branch president 1974-75; 50-year member; and historian, 1995-2002, who organized 80 years’ accumulation of branch records and wrote decade summaries beginning in 1923. (Awarded to Lela Stewart)

Dr. Kate Gregg, first woman to earn a Ph.D. from the University of Washington, 1916; college professor of English; author-compiler of three books of American western frontier history. She passed away in 1954, at which time the branch scholarship program was named in her honor.  (Awarded to Kady Taylor)

Marian Osterby, head librarian who oversaw the remodel and expansion and the Centralia Timberland Library; a noted cook who compiled a cookbook of coveted recipes of family and friends; a resourceful reader who gathered and donated countless books to our annual used-book sale. (Awarded to Kayla DuPont)